Welcome

Local 459 is a labor Union for white collar workers. It is dedicated to improving the work life of its members and the community. Local 459 has more than 2,700 members who work throughout the lower peninsula of Michigan.

 

It is part of the Office and Professional Employees International Union (OPEIU). OPEIU has more than 100,000 members and is part of the AFL-CIO.

 

Local 459 is a democratically run organization owned and operated by its members. It was formed in 1973 with 25 members and has grown ever since.

 

Local 459 is affiliated with the Michigan AFL-CIO, the South/Central Labor Council, the Flint Labor Council, the Kent/Ionia Labor Council, the Traverse Bay Labor Council, and the Metropolitan Detroit Labor Council.

 

OPEIU Towing Service

(800) 617-2677
Producer Code: 74046
Plan Letter : B

 

 

Local 459 staff contact information

Sharon Taylor

staylor@local459.org or

local459@local459.org

Jeff Fleming – ext 121

jfleming@local459.org

Lance Rhines – ext 123

lrhines@local459.org

Ronda Ackerson - ext 115

rackerson@local459.org

Lois Davis-Thomas - ext 122

ldavis-thomas@local459.org

Naudia Fisher - ext 119

nfisher@local459.org

Kerry Miller - ext 124

kmiller@local459.org

Kristen Silvers - ext 118

ksilvers@local459.org




Mgt Proposal – POST 21-4-20
Mgt Proposal – RN pp 1 -40 21-4-20
Mgt Proposal – RN pp 41 -86 21-4-20
Mgt Proposal – RN Staffing Guidelines 21-4-20
Mgt Proposal – Tech pp 1 -40 21-4-20
Mgt Proposal – Tech pp 41 -70 21-4-20
New Hospital Layout 21-4-27






 

 

 

 

 

 

Register Now:
PRO Act Town Hall
July 27, 2021 • 6:30 P.M. EDT

The Protecting the Right to Organize (PRO) Act is the most sweeping overhaul of labor law in decades. It would empower workers to come together to fight for better pay, safe working conditions and more time to spend with family. This critical piece of legislation has passed the House of Representatives and already has 47 co-sponsors in the Senate.

Join OPEIU members, organizers and our guests (to be announced) as we come together to learn how the PRO Act could impact our union and entire labor movement for the better.

Register at bit.ly/proacttownhall

In Solidarity,
Team OPEIU

FREE MASKS AVAILABLE

Local 459 has free masks available to its members. The International sent us several cases of masks at the beginning of the pandemic. These masks were originally believed to be N95s but later discovered that they were not; however they are still good useable masks.

Each member can claim up to 20 masks by appointment only. To make an appointment, call Ronda at (517) 887-8844 or e-mail her at rackerson@local459.org.